HOME Pallas Cat Study and Conservation Program

Sibecocenter
P.O. Box 547, Novosibirsk
Russia, 630090
manul-project@yandex.ru

SUPPORT US JUST NOW!

Last updated:
March 21, 2017

ABOUT PALLAS CAT
Habitat and Distribution

Chaa-Kholskiy district, Tyva. © Elvira NikolenkoWhile Pallas' cat habitat is rather large, its contours are ragged and the animal inhabits it only sporadically. Another trait characteristic of the habitat is that it is broken down into separate isolated areas of unequal size.

Pallas' cats inhabit rocky deserts, semi-desert areas and steppes situated, as a rule, on slopes of low mountains (up to 1000-1500m). In the few regions where semi-deserts and steppes are found at high altitudes (the Gobi region, the Tiang-Shang, the Pamir) it has been observed as high as 3000-4000 meters above the sea level and higher. The Pallas' cat habitat is characterized by sharp continental climate with very low winter temperatures (up to -50° C) and little snowfall, because Pallas' cat is ill adapted for walking on thick snow. One of the reasons area is so fragmented is that the animal prefers to settle near stone outcrops, ravines and in rocky areas that provide shelter from its natural enemies. Besides, rocky environment provides plenty of pikas and rodents that Pallas' cat hunt, and makes it is easier to ambush their prey as well.

The fact that Pallas' cat tends to distribute sporadically makes it difficult to accurately evaluate the dynamics of its habitat's change over the years. Some experts claim that no changes worth considering took place during the last hundred years, except the vicinity of the Aral sea, Kazakhstan steppes and, to some degree, Transbaikal, where Pallas' cat habitat evidently diminished.

Map by Geptner, 1972

Supported by Global Greengrants Fund     Maintained by A. Barashkova Translated by J. Krakovna and A. Barashkova     Design: D. Senotrusov

На главную страницу Программа по изучению и сохранению манула

МЫ В FACEBOOK

Инициативная группа
по изучению манула

manul-project@yandex.ru

ПОДДЕРЖИТЕ ПРОГРАММУ ПРЯМО СЕЙЧАС!

Последнее обновление:
20 ноября 2015

О МАНУЛЕ
Ареал обитания

Республика Тыва, Чаа-Хольский район. Фото Э. НиколенкоПлощадь, на которой обитает манул, довольно обширна. Правда, внутри ареала манул заселяет территорию весьма спорадично, а сам ареал характеризуется сложностью очертаний и пятнистостью. Другой его особенностью является разобщенность на отдельные изолированные неравноценные по площади участки.

Манул повсеместно обитает в нагорных, холмистых пустынях, полупустынях и степях, расположенных, как правило, на склонах невысоких гор (до 1000-1500 м). Лишь в немногих районах, там, где есть высоко лежащие полупустыни и степи (Гобийский Алтай, Тянь-Шань, Памир и др.), он обитает на высоте 3000-4000 м н. у. м. и выше. Для мест обитания манула характерен резко континентальный климат с очень низкими температурами воздуха зимой (до - 50°С) и снежный покров незначительной высоты - манул плохо приспособлен к передвижению по рыхлому, глубокому снегу. Разорванность ареала объясняется и тем, что манул преимущественно держится там, где имеются выходы скал, россыпи камней, овраги, другие особенности рельефа, являющиеся естественной защитой от врагов. Кроме того, в камнях и около них особенно обыкновенны пищухи и грызуны, на которых кот охотится, и здесь ему легче их скрадывать.

Спорадичность распространения манула затрудняет оценку многолетней динамики ареала этой кошки. Некоторые специалисты считают, что каких-либо существенных изменений за последние 100 лет не произошло, за исключением Приаралья и степей Казахстана, где территория, заселенная манулом, явно сократилась, отчасти - Восточного Забайкалья.

По Гептнеру, 1972

Сайт сделан при поддержке Global Greengrants Fund       Автор: А. Барашкова Перевод: Е. Краковная, А. Барашкова       Дизайн: Д.Сенотрусов